Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Advisory Board


Vivian LinProfessor Vivian Lin
Professor Vivian Lin of La Trobe University is the Chair of Public Health. She has an active international profile in the Asia Pacific Region as she serves as a consultant to global institutions, including World Bank and World Health Organisation, in relation to health promotion and health system development. She has spent most of her career in policy, planning, and program development across a wide range of health issues, including health promotion, ethnic health, Aboriginal health, aged care, health technology, pharmaceuticals, intergovernmental relations, and regional planning.


Frances Jennifer Adamson Frances Jennifer Adamson
Ms Frances Jennifer Adamson is the Australian Ambassador-Designate to the People's Republic of China. Her immediate past position was as Chief of Staff in the Office of the Minister of Defence. Ms Adamson joined the Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade in 1985. With a seasoned diplomatic background, she had served as deputy high commissioner in London and also held positions in Taipei, Hong Kong and New York.

Carrillo Gantner AOCarrillo Gantner AO
Mr Carrillo Gantner AO is Chairman of The Myer Foundation and Chairman of The Sidney Myer Fund. He has a well-established and distinguished career in arts, arts administration and theatre. Carrillo was appointed by the government as Chairman of The Melbourne International Arts Festival from January 2010. In June 2001, he was appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia (AO) for service to the performing arts and facilitating cultural exchanges between Australia and Asia. In 2007, Mr Gantner was named Victorian of the Year in recognition of his cultural and philanthropic service to Victoria.

Patricia Kelly Patricia Kelly
Ms Patricia Kelly, Deputy Secretary of the Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research and Tertiary Education, is responsible for the following Divisions: Innovation, Industry and Small Business Policy, and Science and Research. She joined the Department in 1995 and was in charge of industry and innovation policy in a range of areas including pharmaceuticals, aerospace, defence, biotechnology, tourism and services and emerging industries. She is currently a member of the Co-operative Research Centres Committee and the Advisory Council on Intellectual Property.

Professor Andrew MacIntyreProfessor Andrew MacIntyre
Professor Andrew MacIntyre is the Dean of ANU College of Asia and the Pacific and convener of the Australia-Indonesia Governance Research Partnership. He has served as a consultant to government institutions and companies in Australia, the United States and China, as well as international agencies such as the World Bank. His research focuses on international relations in the Asia-Pacific region, Australian foreign policy, and comparative political economy. He is currently working on a multi-author study of Asian regional institutions.

Bruce MillerBruce Miller
Mr Bruce Miller is the Australian Ambassador to Japan and was the Deputy Director-General of the Office of National Assessments. He has spent most of his career working in foreign policy, centering on Australia's relations with East Asia and Australian responses to regional and global security issues. In the last five years, he has worked for the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet handling national securities. He has also served at the Australian Embassy in Tokyo and Tehran.

Hugh Morgan ACHugh Morgan AC
Mr Hugh Morgan AC, is Chairman Emeritus of the Asia Society AustralAsia and Trustee Emeritus of the Asia Society, New York. He was formerly the CEO of Western Mining Corporation, and has held positions including President of the Business Council of Australia and President of the Australia-Japan Business Cooperation Committee. He is the President of the Lavoisier Group and the Chairman of BioDiem Limited. He has sat on the board of the Reserve Bank of Australia, and was the founding Chairman of the Asia Society AustralAsia.

Professor Wang GungwuProfessor Wang Gungwu
Professor Wang Gungwu is the Chairman of the East Asian Institute at the National University of Singapore and Emeritus Professor of the Australian National University. His research focuses on Chinese history, and Chinese migrations and diaspora. Prior to his appointment at NUS, he was professor and head of the Department of Far Eastern History and Director of the Research of Pacific Studies at the ANU (1968 – 1986) and vice-chancellor of the University of Hong Kong between 1986 and 1995.

Updated:  18 March 2013/Responsible Officer:  Director, China in the World /Page Contact:  China in the World